General G-Max AS-05 Tire Reviews & Ratings

By David Barlow
Last Updated: April 1, 2021

General Tire is an American producer of motorized tires. In 1915, it was established by William Francis O’Neil, C.J. Jahant, Robert Iredell, Winfred E. Fouse, and H.B. Pushee in Akron, Ohio. 

At first, people called it The General Tire & Rubber Company and changed into General Tire and Rubber Co., or General Tire in the 1960s. The company used funding from Michael G, who was the department store owner of Akron’s O’Neil’s. 

This store later developed into many conglomerates such as General Tire, DiversiTech General, Aerojet, RKO General. 

In 1987, Germany’s Continental bought General Tire and changed with the name Continental Tire North America. Not long after that, Continental Tire North America and its original company re-cooperated again with the first name, General Tire

For many driving lovers, General Tire might not be their favorite tire trade name. However, their founders saw the potentials which deliver exceptional fulfillment at a competing value. Therefore, Continental fixed the General corporate models in 2007.

General G Max AS 05

General co-operated with a famous name, Grabber light truck tire, and commenced manufacturing footprints in off-road vehicle tracks. One of the best all-season tires of this brand is G-Max AS-05, published in May 2017. If you tend to equip your beloved car with the tires bringing high performance, let’s refer to General G-Max AS-05 reviews below. 

Treadwear performance

General G-Max AS-05 possesses the tread design with high-silica content and significant, steady tread sections on the outboard and inboard joints for leading high-speed confidence. Thanks to the four circumferential scratches, it can support the angled trenches to direct the water away from the tire. 

Wet performance

There is no doubt about G-Max AS-05’s wet performance. With asymmetrical tread design and fighting hydroplaning capacity, it performs well even in the raining condition.  

Dry performance

This kind of tire brand is also a formidable opponent of many other brands when comparing their dry performances. Thanks to the excellent traction with a unique tread design, this all-season tire brings you a fabulous driving experience in dry weather. 

Snow performance

Some drivers may have a high expectation in the snow performance of this tire. However, the sad news is that it does not satisfy your wish. If you look for a car for snow or winter, it is not the perfect one.

Braking

This tire’s braking is ranked one of the most top-notch ones, nearly having the same level of premium tires. It is responsive in every single corner due to the crisp steering.

View more: Quick General Grabber ATX Reviews

General G-Max AS-05 Reviews: Pros & Cons

Pros
  • Excellent dry and wet traction
  • Satisfactory ride for UHP tire
  • Exceptional cornering grip and durability
  • Better tread life than other tires
  • Reducing noise at highway speeds
Cons
  • Not extraordinarily beneficial in light snow
  • Not better than the high-end tire brands

General G-Max AS-05 Test Drive

After reading some G-Maz AS-05 reviews and driving cars with these kinds of tires, we decide to replace our old tires with the new AS-05 ones. From our experience, we would like to give an honest review of this brand. 

AS-05 brings users many considerable benefits and an excellent driving experience with outstanding performance in tread life, wet and dry condition, and braking. This type of General is the upgrade of the previous product, G-Max AS-03, and provides you ultra-high performance.

However, it also has some drawbacks. It is evident in snow pavement performance. It seems not to connect your car to the road in wet weather and makes it difficult to move quickly.

When compared to the comfort level of grand-touring tires, AS-05 is not the opponent. However, it still brings users an incredible driving feeling of comfort when driving. In other words, AS-05 does not perform well in light snow conditions.

After referring to the General G-Max AS-05 reviews, we would say that you will replace your old tires with the AS-05 ones for sure as it provides you a superior driving experience with the outstanding features listed above. 

AS-05 will be the trendy and popular tires for driving enthusiasts in 2021. It also should be on your all-season tire list and worth trying.

See more: General Grabber At2 Reviews – The Best Choice For General Tire

Treadlife Warranty:6 Years / 50,000 Miles (1) Half mileage for rear if different size than front
Uniformity Warranty:First 1/32″ of wear
Workmanship & Materials Warranty:6 Years / Free replacement first year or 2/32″ of wear, then prorated until 2/32″ remaining depth (1)
Manufacturer’s Road Hazard Warranty:None
Manufacturer Special Warranty:45-Day or 1st 2/32″ Customer Satisfaction Trial(2)
Additional Information:(1) Repair voids warranty (2) Whichever comes 1st,purchase 4 exchange for another set of General.
G-Max As 05 Warranty summary for replacement tires purchased on or after 01/01/18 at Tire Rack

16″17″
195/50ZR16205/55ZR16205/40ZR17225/50ZR17
205/45ZR16215/55ZR16205/45ZR17225/55ZR17
205/50ZR16225/50ZR16205/50ZR17235/45ZR17
225/55ZR16215/45ZR17235/50ZR17
215/50ZR17235/55ZR17
215/55ZR17245/40ZR17
225/45ZR17245/45ZR17
275/40ZR17245/50ZR17
18″19″
215/40ZR18245/40ZR18225/40ZR19245/40ZR19
215/45ZR18245/45ZR18225/45ZR19245/45ZR19
225/40ZR18245/55ZR18235/40ZR19255/35ZR19
225/45ZR18255/35ZR18245/35ZR19255/40ZR19
225/50ZR18255/40ZR18275/40ZR19
235/40ZR18255/45ZR18
235/45ZR18265/35ZR18
235/50ZR18275/40ZR18
20″22″
245/35ZR20255/35ZR20265/40ZR22
245/40ZR20255/45ZR20
245/45ZR20275/35ZR20
275/40ZR20

G-Max As 05 prices range from approximately around $94.99 – $242.99Tirebuyer

  • Goodyear Eagle Sport All Season
  • Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3
  • Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4
  • Vredestein Quatrac Pro
  • Nokian WR G3
  • Falken Azenis PT722

General G-Max AS-05 – Compare Prices

We found 7 online tire retailers selling General G-Max AS-05. Refer to the details below to get the best price:

General G-Max AS-05
PRICE SOLD BY  
Offers
TireRack
Offers
SimpleTire
Offers
TireBuyer
Offers
SimpleTire
$98
DiscountTire
Offers
PriorityTire
Offers
DiscountTire

G-Max AS-05 Ratings By Consumer

G-Max AS-05 review by consumer
Dry
97%
Wet
93%
Snow
77%
Comfort
97%
Noise
87%
Treadwear
83%

By 06 consumer(s)

Sort by

  • Avatar

    King

    They were so popular that I bought the second set after more than 60K miles. Great grip and stability on dry roads. Excellent in snow and rain. However, NJ potholes and short sidewalls don’t go together well. The OEM tires were quieter, but the road noise was still acceptable. I would recommend this radial to anyone who is looking for an all-season performance radial.

    February 7, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Farmer

    These low profile tires offer excellent dry traction as well as acceptable wet traction. They performed well in light snow, although they are not suitable for winter conditions. The ride comfort of these tires is not as good as those with a shorter sidewall and low profile. Potholes can cause discomfort and even lead to tooth jarring.

    December 14, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Lowell Norris

    These tires are great. These tires are brand new, but they have been used in all weather conditions. They are excellent in snow and they are on the way to becoming great. This tire brand is smoother and more quiet than the original.

    October 26, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Lowe

    This tire is amazing. I have not yet learned about snow, but it is great for rain and on dry pavement. They are so quiet, I don’t even notice they exist. Compared to the Mercedes OEM Continental ContacPro tires, I saved a lot of cash and will continue to use the General tires as my replacement tire. It is a great value for money and the quality is outstanding.

    October 10, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Rose

    These tires have been my best friend for over 1000 miles. I use them on both highway and city roads and am 100% satisfied with the purchase. These tires are mid-range in price but perform well for their price. These tires can withstand a lot of driving, which I find a bit annoying at times. These tires are quieter than the OEM Yokohama and Milestar tires. They are very grippy in corners, with a little bit of flexibility and smooth over imperfections on the road. As I have only covered 1000 miles, I cannot speak to the treadwear. They are very good in snow due to their new tread and high level of wear. They are all-season tires that don’t cost too much and I recommend them. If they become available again, I wouldn’t hesitate to buy them again. A $110-120 tire for $90. Great deal.

    June 23, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Terry Fuller

    So far so good. These tires have been great in all weather conditions. These tires are excellent in rain and snow. Excellent in dry conditions. Even with aggressive maneuvers, tires are very quiet. High speeds make very little noise. The sidewall is soft. It takes a while to set the tire in fast lane changes, but it remains solid once it is set. It will be interesting to see how it performs in hot weather and when the tread wears down.

    May 6, 2020

    Helpful?

Share your experience to help others get the right choice!

Your email address will not be published.

Dry
Wet
Snow
Comfort
Noise
Treadwear

General G-Max AS-05
PRICESOLD BY
Offers
In Stock
TireRack
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
Offers
In Stock
TireBuyer
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
From
$98
In Stock
DiscountTire
Offers
In Stock
PriorityTire
Offers
In Stock
DiscountTire

David Barlow

Automotive Experts at World Tire Review

Hi everyone, I’m David (Tireguy). I believe that finding tires can lead to a lot of confusion and frustration for almost every driver. That’s why I would like to bring my experiences and knowledges to develop World Tire Review blog, it will give people a deeper understanding of what choosing the right tire is really like!
General
G-Max AS-05
TireRackDiscountTireAmazonSimpleTireTireBuyerPriorityTireTireAmerica