Michelin Defender LTX M/S Tire Reviews: Outstanding Performance

By David Barlow
Last Updated: August 7, 2021
Michelin Defender LTX MS review

If you’re after a long-lasting, premium-quality tire that can handle heavy loads, you’ve come to the right place. Our Michelin Defender LTX MS review will answer all your inquiries about this tire regarding its characteristics, advantages, and disadvantages.

Michelin Defenter LTX M/S Overview

Michelin is a French tire manufacturer known for excellent workmanship and a lower defect rate than its competitors. The company is recognized worldwide as a pioneer in technological innovation.

Its LTX/M S2 tire has still been the talk of the town among truckers throughout North America for its sturdiness and long-lasting tread life. This means that it has set the bar high for other latecomers in the category, especially its successor – Michelin Defender LTX MS.

The Michelin Defender LTX MS is by far the most powerful and efficient all-season highway tire available. It’s designed for drivers of any vehicle in a range of 12 to 15-inch wheel diameter. The characteristics of this tire assist all types of trucks, larger or smaller SUVs, and even most crossover vehicles.

The notable feature of this LTX MS tire starts with better driving dynamics that have a 10% improvement in longevity compared to its predecessor. This A-temperature tire can combat uneven surfaces and extreme situations like driving on the hardpacked ground in dry, rainy, or snowy weather.

In terms of traction, the tire’s Evertread compound features a symmetric tread design that holds up to tough conditions, promoting superb dry handling, wet traction, and short braking distance. 

Given a massive boost to this compound, the MaxTouch Construction can enhance the contact patch and improve overall stability and durability.

It’s made to disperse the stresses of acceleration, braking, and cornering more evenly, resulting in lower rolling resistance and longer tread life. Depending on the speed rating, the tread can go up to 70,000 miles.

Not only can you get reliable tires for your truck, but your vehicle’s fuel economy will also improve. Michelin claims that they can save up to 65 gallons of fuel over the tire’s life.

And to provide the best driving experience, Michelin offers noise-canceling patterns and insulation to reduce road noise. Except for hard grooved pavement, the Defender LTX offers a smooth ride and insignificant road noise on all types of surfaces.

However, keep in mind that most all-season tires are not built for extreme weather, especially heavy snow. 

With the tire’s incredible performance, generous warranty offerings, and satisfaction guarantees, it comes as no surprise that the price is higher than other models in the same class.

Michelin Defender LTX M/S Review: Pros & Cons

Pros
  • All-season safety with an excellent tread compound
  • Ultimate tread life
  • Available in many sizes
  • Short braking distance
  • Quiet and comfortable ride
Cons
  • Not friendly-budgeted price
  • Inadequate traction in heavy snow

See more: Michelin Defender LTX M/S Tire Reviews

Tire Drive Test

According to our road test, this tire offers better traction and shorter stopping distances than its competitors in all types of weather, notably on wet and dry surfaces. 

The MaxTouch construction has equally distributed the stresses of braking, cornering, and accelerating across the tread surface. We didn’t notice anything unusual on the tread area after driving it for about 2,000-4000 miles. 

As for the wet, dry, and snow performance, we have come to our expected results. It distributes acceleration and braking forces smoothly on dry roads while giving a better grip in wet areas.

The Michelin LTX MS tire is not for snow-packed roads since it lacks traction. Therefore, we recommend you invest in dedicated winter tires rather than having this LTX MS tire for snowy roads.

You should opt for the Michelin LTX MS if you’re looking for impressive tread life, great all-season grip, and better fuel efficiency. 

It undoubtedly combines all of the best attributes available in this tire segment, including excellent year-round grip, braking, and handling, as well as a comfortable ride and extended tread life.

Treadlife Warranty:6 Years / 70,000 Miles (T- & H-Speed Rated)  6 Years / 50,000 Miles (R-Speed Rated)  Half mileage for rear if different size than front
Uniformity Warranty:1 Year / first 2/32″ of wear
Workmanship & Materials Warranty:6 Years / Free replacement first year, 2/32″ or 25% of wear, then prorated until 2/32″ remaining depth
Manufacturer’s Road Hazard Warranty:None
Manufacturer Special Warranty:60-day satisfaction (1), 3-yr flat changing
Additional Information:
(1) Exchange for Michelin, BFGoodrich, or Uniroyal
Defender LTX M/S warranty summary for replacement tires purchased on or after 06/01/19 at Tire Rack

15″16″
205/65R15235/75R15215/55R16LT 245/75R16
215/75R15LT 31X10.50R15215/70R16255/65R16
LT 215/85R16255/70R16
LT 225/75R16265/70R16
235/70R16265/75R16
235/75R16LT 265/75R16
LT 235/85R16275/70R16
245/70R16LT 285/75R16
245/75R16
17″18″
215/50R17LT 245/75R17235/55R18265/70R18
225/55R17255/65R17235/60R18LT 265/70R18
225/65R17255/70R17235/65R18275/60R18
LT 225/75R17255/75R17245/60R18275/65R18
235/65R17265/65R17255/55R18LT 275/65R18
235/70R17265/70R17255/65R18LT 275/70R18
235/75R17LT 265/70R17LT 255/65R18285/60R18
245/65R17LT 285/70R17265/60R18LT 285/65R18
LT 245/70R17LT 295/70R17265/65R18LT 295/70R18
19″20″
235/45R19255/50R19245/60R20285/50R20
235/55R19255/60R19255/50R20LT 285/60R20
245/55R19255/55R20LT 285/65R20
265/50R20LT 295/60R20
LT 265/60R20LT 295/65R20
275/55R20305/50R20
275/60R20LT 35X12.50R20
LT 275/65R20
22″
275/50R22305/40R22
285/45R22

Defender LTX M/S prices range approximately from $151.99 – $399.99Tirebuyer

Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV
Yokohama Geolander AT G015
Dunlop Grandtrek ST20
Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2
Nokian WeatherProof SUV

Defender LTX M/S Ratings By Consumer

Defender LTX MS Ratings By Consumer
Dry
96%
Wet
93%
Snow
85%
Comfort
98%
Noise
93%
Treadwear
96%

By 11 consumer(s)

Sort by

  • Avatar

    Cristian

    The tires perform well in all weather conditions. The rear wheels generate a lot of power so sometimes spinouts can be inevitable, especially on wet surfaces or on inclines. These were the right choice for me as I used the car to transport my family and rarely went off-road. For such a high quality tire, the price is very affordable. Although I considered Nitto, Cooper and Goodyear as well, they all scored similarly. However, I chose Michelin because of its reputation and the sworn testimony from others. This is the tire for you if you are looking for excellent highway performance. You can have the best of both (a/t) and choose any of the other tires. It all depends on your budget.

    July 14, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Chace

    This is my second set of these tires. They have been on my first set since 2008, which I have used in snow conditions. The tires have not been changed in the last 2500 miles. It is difficult to get Michelin to rebate me as promised. This happened again the first time I purchased them. It took several calls and took months to resolve. Six weeks later, and Michelin still has not sent me a rebate check.

    May 18, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Pierce

    These Michelin Defenders came on my 2016 Durango RWD6cyl. I replaced the first set that I wore until the tread indicators at 60k miles. Hydroplaning was only then I noticed it. I drive hard. With traction control and independent suspension, the tires don’t ever break, but I can still stomp on the pedals knowing that they will stay put. I’m happy with 60000 miles the way I drive. They are a great match for the Durango so I replaced them with the identical. An LT tire might be something I would consider if I tow often. They have not been in snow yet so I can’t really comment on that. Excellent tire for most conditions, including above freezing temperatures, heavy rains, aggressive cornering and stopping. They are comfortable and can be used on the highway. For a tire that has such good traction, it is relatively long-lasting. In my 80k mile experience, there were no flats, defects or airloss. I was able to start and stop the tire even with a trailer weighing 5000 lbs.

    April 24, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Chad

    This is one of my favorite tires! Great on both wet and dry roads. For 8 years, the Michelin Defender tires have been on my Ford F-150. Over 60,000 miles per year are my average driving distance for some years. These tires have been proven to be reliable! These tires are one of the best on the market! It’s great on the highway, whether it’s dry, wet or snowing. These tires can withstand the rough Mahwah streets with all their potholes. This is what it looks like!

    April 6, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Corey

    These tires were purchased by us about 15 months ago. These tires are great for my Acura MDX and my 2011 Odyssey van. They are quiet, quiet, and great for driving around town in the rain or shine. I have road-tripped both them 1000+ miles. These tires were great for me when I drove the Acura up to the Rocky Mountains. They are so confident, even in the midst of a foot of snow. It is quiet enough to drive on the highway (less that 68db). These tires are durable and last long. The 18-inch version has 12/32 tread. The LTX version is better for heavy vehicles and SUVs than the regular Defenders. These tires are made for lighter vehicles, while the LTX version can be used for larger cars like a minivan or loaded up van. It weighs in at over 5500 pounds, with 6 people, 2 dogs and tons of luggage. The LTX version is great for luxury SUVs and minivans. They are super smooth and look great. The Acura MDX’s tires have covered about 15k miles. I drove it 2500 miles round trip on the LTX tires from the Colorado mountains to the Colorado mountains. It was in all weather conditions: dry, smooth interstate and blinding snow up to a foot deep. They crossed Kansas with ease and were quiet, and did not slip in the Colorado snow. I couldn’t be happier. This tire is a better choice than the Defender for heavier vehicles. I wouldn’t have considered an LTX tire if one thinks of a pickup for an LTX. They have maintained a perfect balance (as all Michelin tires do!) They wear evenly. Michelin deserves credit for creating a tire that is great for all family SUVs and vans.

    December 15, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Holden

    Highly recommended These tires are more expensive than the others, but they are worth it. These tires are of top quality and they wear well. This is our third pair of Defenders (140,000 miles on the odometer). They are extremely comfortable and can be used for up to 70,000 miles. Even for a large SUV, the car has a great feel. Low road noise, good cornering. Michelins are my preferred choice because of their excellent durability, performance and feel. While you can buy cheaper tires, you’ll end up paying more for alignment, mount, balance and balance at the tire shop. That’s foolish.

    December 9, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Zack

    I have owned many different brands of tires, but these tires are my favorite. They are more expensive than other tires, but they last longer and ride better. These tires will be replaced when they are worn out. I’ll also replace them with the same type of tire when my other suv (rav4) requires its first set.

    November 24, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Liam

    I normally choose a balance between performance and treadware, but I was intrigued by these SUV/CUV tires that would fit into my passenger car. I bought them and tested them. These tires will reduce your car’s speed and traction, but they can transform your regular car into one with the best combination of crossover cold-weather performance and regular sedan gas mileage. Try it… you don’t regret it.

    October 24, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Braxton

    My Highlander’s factory-installed tires were so bad that I was anxious the first winter they were on, I had to have them replaced. They had to be replaced by the time they reached 40,000 miles. These Michelin tires were recommended by many people and I found them online. They are quiet, and my SUV rides much better. I feel safer in the winter. They should last for more than 40,000 miles.

    August 1, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Colton

    These tires are the best for my truck. I have owned them since 1997. They are also the only brand I have used. My truck is used for construction work, hauling materials, and to transport trailers. It performs well in the city and on the highway. Every set of Michelin’s gives me great mileage.

    July 28, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Braylen

    My last set of Michelin Defenders covered 100,000+ miles with no tread. They got me through snow, ice, and many miles on the highway to South Florida and North Carolina. I would not trust another tire to bring me home in any road weather condition. These tires are more durable than other brands if you rotate your tires on time and maintain PSI at the correct level.

    June 15, 2020

    Helpful?

Share your experience to help others get the right choice!

Your email address will not be published.

Dry
Wet
Snow
Comfort
Noise
Treadwear

David Barlow

Automotive Experts at World Tire Review

Hi everyone, I’m David (Tireguy). I believe that finding tires can lead to a lot of confusion and frustration for almost every driver. That’s why I would like to bring my experiences and knowledges to develop World Tire Review blog, it will give people a deeper understanding of what choosing the right tire is really like!