Michelin Defender LTX M/S Tire Reviews: Outstanding Performance

By David Barlow
Last updated: Feb 7, 2023
Michelin Defender LTX MS review

If you’re after a long-lasting, premium-quality tire that can handle heavy loads, you’ve come to the right place. Our review will answer all your inquiries about this tire regarding its characteristics, advantages, and disadvantages.

Michelin Defender LTX M/S Overview

Michelin is a French tire manufacturer known for excellent workmanship and a lower defect rate than its competitors. The company is recognized worldwide as a pioneer in technological innovation.

Its LTX/M S2 tire has still been the talk of the town among truckers throughout North America for its sturdiness and long-lasting tread life. This means that it has set the bar high for other latecomers in the category, especially its successor – Michelin Defender LTX MS.

The Michelin Defender LTX MS is by far the most powerful and efficient all-season highway tire available. It’s designed for drivers of any vehicle in a range of 12 to 15-inch wheel diameter. The characteristics of this tire assist all types of trucks, larger or smaller SUVs, and even most crossover vehicles.

The notable feature of this LTX MS tire starts with better driving dynamics that have a 10% improvement in longevity compared to its predecessor. This A-temperature tire can combat uneven surfaces and extreme situations like driving on the hardpacked ground in dry, snowy, or rainy weather.

In terms of traction, the tire’s Evertread compound features a symmetric tread design that holds up to tough conditions, promoting superb dry handling, wet traction, and short braking distance. 

Given a massive boost to this compound, the MaxTouch Construction can enhance the contact patch and improve overall stability and durability.

It’s made to disperse the stresses of acceleration, braking, and cornering more evenly, resulting in lower rolling resistance and longer tread life. Depending on the speed rating, the tread can go up to 70,000 miles.

Not only can you get reliable tires for your truck, but your vehicle’s fuel economy will also improve. Michelin claims that they can save up to 65 gallons of fuel over the tire’s life.

And to provide the best driving experience, Michelin offers noise-canceling patterns and insulation to reduce road noise. Except for hard grooved pavement, the Defender LTX offers a smooth ride and insignificant road noise on all types of surfaces.

However, keep in mind that most all-season tires are not built for extreme weather, especially heavy snow. 

With the tire’s incredible performance, generous warranty offerings, and satisfaction guarantees, it comes as no surprise that the price is higher than other models in the same class.

Michelin Defender LTX M/S Review: Pros & Cons

Pros
  • All-season safety with an excellent tread compound
  • Ultimate tread life
  • Available in many sizes
  • Short braking distance
  • Quiet and comfortable ride
Cons
  • Not friendly-budgeted price
  • Inadequate traction in heavy snow

See more: Michelin Defender LTX M/S Tire Reviews

Tire Drive Test

According to our road test, this tire offers better traction and shorter stopping distances than its competitors in all types of weather, notably on wet and dry surfaces. 

The MaxTouch construction has equally distributed the stresses of braking, cornering, and accelerating across the tread surface. We didn’t notice anything unusual on the tread area after driving it for about 2,000-4000 miles. 

As for the wet, dry, and snow performance, we have come to our expected results. It distributes acceleration and braking forces smoothly on dry roads while giving a better grip in wet areas.

The Michelin LTX MS tire is not for snow-packed roads since it lacks traction. Therefore, we recommend you invest in dedicated winter tires rather than having this LTX MS tire for snowy roads.

You should opt for the Michelin LTX MS if you’re looking for impressive tread life, great all-season grip, and better fuel efficiency. 

It undoubtedly combines all of the best attributes available in this tire segment, including excellent year-round grip, braking, and handling, as well as a comfortable ride and extended tread life.

Treadlife Warranty:6 Years / 70,000 Miles (T- & H-Speed Rated)  6 Years / 50,000 Miles (R-Speed Rated)  Half mileage for rear if different size than front
Uniformity Warranty:1 Year / first 2/32″ of wear
Workmanship & Materials Warranty:6 Years / Free replacement first year, 2/32″ or 25% of wear, then prorated until 2/32″ remaining depth
Manufacturer’s Road Hazard Warranty:None
Manufacturer Special Warranty:60-day satisfaction (1), 3-yr flat changing
Additional Information:
(1) Exchange for Michelin, BFGoodrich, or Uniroyal
Defender LTX M/S warranty summary for replacement tires purchased on or after 06/01/19 at Tire Rack

15″16″
205/65R15235/75R15215/55R16LT 245/75R16
215/75R15LT 31X10.50R15215/70R16255/65R16
LT 215/85R16255/70R16
LT 225/75R16265/70R16
235/70R16265/75R16
235/75R16LT 265/75R16
LT 235/85R16275/70R16
245/70R16LT 285/75R16
245/75R16
17″18″
215/50R17LT 245/75R17235/55R18265/70R18
225/55R17255/65R17235/60R18LT 265/70R18
225/65R17255/70R17235/65R18275/60R18
LT 225/75R17255/75R17245/60R18275/65R18
235/65R17265/65R17255/55R18LT 275/65R18
235/70R17265/70R17255/65R18LT 275/70R18
235/75R17LT 265/70R17LT 255/65R18285/60R18
245/65R17LT 285/70R17265/60R18LT 285/65R18
LT 245/70R17LT 295/70R17265/65R18LT 295/70R18
19″20″
235/45R19255/50R19245/60R20285/50R20
235/55R19255/60R19255/50R20LT 285/60R20
245/55R19255/55R20LT 285/65R20
265/50R20LT 295/60R20
LT 265/60R20LT 295/65R20
275/55R20305/50R20
275/60R20LT 35X12.50R20
LT 275/65R20
22″
275/50R22305/40R22
285/45R22

Defender LTX M/S prices range approximately from $151.99 – $399.99Tirebuyer

Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV
Yokohama Geolander AT G015
Dunlop Grandtrek ST20
Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2
Nokian WeatherProof SUV

Michelin Defender LTX M/S – Compare Prices

We found 7 online tire retailers selling Michelin Defender LTX M/S. Refer to the details below to get the best price:

Michelin Defender LTX M/S
PRICE SOLD BY  
$151.99
TireRack
Offers
SimpleTire
$151.99
TireBuyer
Offers
SimpleTire
Offers
DiscountTire
Offers
PriorityTire

Defender LTX M/S Ratings By Consumer

Defender LTX MS Ratings By Consumer

Dry
96%
Wet
93%
Snow
85%
Comfort
98%
Noise
93%
Treadwear
96%

By 11 driver(s)

Sort by

  • Avatar

    Cristian

    When selecting tires for my car, I chose to go with Michelin due to its outstanding reputation and the glowing reviews from others. It is an ideal choice if you’re in need of good highway performance as it offers reliable traction on wet surfaces, inclines or off-road excursions – all without breaking your budget!

    With enhanced safety features that allow for efficient gripping on any terrain regardless of weather conditions; you can rest assured knowing this tire provides optimal protection when transporting family members or goods along highways trips.

    July 14, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Chace

    These are my second set of these tires. They have been on my first set since 2008, which I have used in snow conditions, and I have not changed the tires in the last 2500 miles. It isn’t easy to get Michelin to rebate me as promised. It happened again the first time I purchased them. It took several calls and took months to resolve. Several weeks later, Michelin still has not sent me a rebate check.

    May 18, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Pierce

    My 2016 Durango RWD6cyl requires a special kind of tire – and I’m pleased to report that the Michelin Defenders fit the bill perfectly. Not only have they handled my aggressive driving style without complaint, but their performance did not deteriorate until reaching 60k miles! With traction control and independent suspension working in tandem with these tires, I feel confident stomping on the pedals knowing full well that stability will be maintained at all times. After six months’ service from one set of Defenders, it was time for new ones – so identical replacements were happily acquired. All-in-all an ideal partnership between car and rubber!

    Towing long distances is a breeze with LT tires. For those who endure cold temperatures and heavy rains, these rugged tires will keep you safe on the roads – whether it’s aggressive cornering or fast braking. And at 80k miles of use without any flats? Impressive! Not to mention tackling trailers up to 5000 lbs; that’s no easy feat for any tire! So if an adventurous drive awaits, get your wheels equipped with some hardy LT treads today.

    April 24, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Chad

    After 8 years of dependable service on my Ford F-150 and many miles traveled, the Michelin Defender tires have truly been a reliable companion in all kinds of road conditions. The tread is perfectly suited for wet or dry roads as well as snowy terrain, so I can confidently maneuver even around Mahwah’s pothole-filled streets! Outstanding performance combined with durability make these some of the best tires available.

    April 6, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Corey

    We have been delighted with our purchase of these tires for both our Acura MDX and 2011 Odyssey van. They offer a smooth, quiet ride whether in the city or on long road trips across country; they provided assurance even when we took them to snow-covered Rocky Mountains! With minimal noise (68db) during highway driving and high durability that provide lasting treads for up 18 inches (12/32), this tire also offers reliable strength perfect for heavier vehicles such as SUVs. The LTX version is an excellent choice compared to regular Defenders too.

    Discover what it feels like to drive with confidence. The LTX tires, designed for both lighter vehicles and heavier cars alike such as minivans or vans loaded up with gear, provide a smooth ride no matter the weather conditions – from sunshine on dry interstates to blizzards in Colorado mountains covered by snow over one foot deep!

    Tested extensively during a 2500 mile round-trip journey along all kinds of terrain in varying climates onboard an Acura MDX that has traveled 15k miles already; these top performance tyres did not slip even once across Kansas and more importantly held their own against the cold white powdery tracks found around Rocky Mountains.

    I’m absolutely thrilled with my choice of tire. Choosing the Michelin LTX for heavier vehicles was an excellent decision, and I couldn’t be more satisfied! It’s amazing how these tires manage to maintain perfect balance in any kind of vehicle – from family SUVs to pickups alike. Not only that but they have a great wear pattern too; kudos to Michelin for creating such an all-around remarkable tire!

    December 15, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Holden

    Investing in Michelin Defenders is a wise choice for your car’s longevity and performance. With up to 140,000 miles of use on the odometer, these tires offer incredible amounts of mileage that are backed by great ride quality – from low road noise to excellent cornering control even with heavier vehicles. Not only will you get top-level durability and feel when driving but also save more money over time due to lower alignment costs than cheaper brands may require.

    December 9, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Zack

    I’ve had the pleasure of trying out different types of tires over time, but my current set has truly gone above and beyond. Despite being pricier than their peers, they offer a greater lifespan as well as an improved driving experience – and when it comes to replacing them I will surely stick with what works for me! For added assurance, I plan on relying on this same trustworthy brand when my RAV4 needs its first tire change.

    November 24, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Liam

    Want to enjoy a car-like ride without compromising on performance? Consider switching your regular tires for SUV/CUV ones. Sure, you’ll sacrifice some speed and grip; however, these new treads provide the perfect blend of crossover cold-weather capability plus sedan efficiency – all from one set of wheels! Take it from us: once tried; you won’t be disappointed in this transformational tire switch up.

    October 24, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Braxton

    After scouring reviews and recommendations, I replaced my factory-installed tires with Michelin ones. They were remarkably quiet – a true blessing for the winter months ahead of me! The difference in ride quality was enormous; that extra grip has made me feel much safer on snowy roads too. These high performance all terrain Michelins are sure to last longer than their substandard predecessor at 40,000 miles!

    August 1, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Colton

    Since 1997, I’ve been trusting Michelin tires for my truck. Whether it’s handling the rigors of construction work or hauling materials around town and on long highway trips – these reliable tires provide a smooth ride with great mileage every time!

    July 28, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Braylen

    I’ve taken my Michelin Defenders on quite a ride! Through rain, snow, and highway miles I kept rolling with 100k+ underfoot and never had to worry about the tread. Of course rotating them on time is key for great life endurance – that’s how these tires are able to take me home no matter what weather conditions come my way. Trustworthy performance in any road condition!

    June 15, 2020

    Helpful?

Share your experience to help others get the right choice!

Your email address will not be published.

Dry
Wet
Snow
Comfort
Noise
Treadwear

Michelin Defender LTX M/S
PRICESOLD BY
From
$151.99
In Stock
TireRack
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
From
$151.99
In Stock
TireBuyer
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
Offers
In Stock
DiscountTire
Offers
In Stock
PriorityTire
Offers
In Stock
DiscountTire

David Barlow

Automotive Experts at World Tire Review

Hi everyone, I’m David (Tireguy). I believe that finding tires can lead to a lot of confusion and frustration for almost every driver. That’s why I would like to bring my experiences and knowledges to develop World Tire Review blog, it will give people a deeper understanding of what choosing the right tire is really like