Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx Tire Review – What You Should Know Before Buying

By David Barlow
Last updated: Jan 3, 2023
Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx reviews

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx Overview

Whether or not the product is worth your money is the topic of this Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx review. Let’s have a look into the manufacturer of the tire down below:

About Cooper Tire & Rubber Company:

Cooper Tire – also known as Cooper Tire & Rubber Company, is a huge player in the tire production industry. It has a long-standing reputation for quality products and great service, stemming from hard work over a century. The company now has manufacturing facilities on three separate continents, and its distribution networks reach worldwide.

As a part of a very dynamic market, Cooper Tire’s products are mainly replacement tires for passenger cars and other light vehicles. The company currently sets its target to remain as one of the top tire providers in North America.

Product Features:

It’s time to take a look at this tire’s specs.

Product NameCooper Discoverer S/T MAXX
SizeLT285/70R17
TypeRadial Tire
Load RangeE
Max Load (lb)3,195 (SRW), 2,910 (DRW)
Sidewall ConstructionPolyester, three plies
Tread ConstructionNylon, Stell, Polyester
Approved Rim Width7.5 – 9.0 inches
Tread Depth18.5/32 inches
Tread Width9.3 inches
Overall Diameter33 inches
Maximum PSI80
Weight60 lbs
Section Width11.5 inches

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx comes along with Cooper’s three plies of Armor-Tek3® construction technology – which allows your tire to have strong sidewalls and tread, along with an angled ply construction that spreads out the forces applied to the tire. 

It also has a brand new proprietary road damage compound, guaranteeing long-lasting shelf life and excellent risk prevention.

Because of such features and a hybrid tread design, S/T Maxx is incredibly good on tough terrains while still providing amazing traction and stability despite being of commercial grade. The tire is also very quiet and comfortable to ride on, which gives you the best commuting experience.

All these attractive attributes will not come to shine without the outstanding blend of rubber and silica in the product’s tread compound. The substance can withstand slipping on wet surfaces and highways while still being exceptionally durable. The strategic ribs and lateral grooves also come into play by eliminating bigger obstacles like pebbles.

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx reviews: Pros & Cons

Pros
  • Excellent traction on both dry and wet surfaces
  • Great handling on and off-road
  • Durable and long-lasting
  • Quiet and comfortable to ride on
  • Worth the price tag
Cons
  • Does not hold well on snowy conditions

Discoverer S/T Maxx Drive Test (300w)

As claimed in their advertisement, the Cooper Discoverer S/T tire can withstand any type of terrain, whether on or off-road, dry or wet, rain or shine. We have tested the tire out in these conditions. 

Noise

Going into the test, we initially assumed that the tire would cause a lot of noise when the engine revs and turns it around, but we were pleasantly surprised. The decrease of loud noises proves to be a valuable feature for vehicle owners who drive around every day since constant screeching is very annoying.

Rainy Condition

Driving with the S/T Maxx under the rain and on sloppy roads takes the worries off our minds. Even when water floods the asphalt, the tire’s compound and its special blend give you lots of traction. 

We can testify for the tire’s ability to take high inflation pressure to its advantage as well as withstanding hefty goods on our truck. 

Off-Road

When off-road, the tire performs well. Although we have no doubts about this looking at the tire’s tread and overall design, we are very satisfied with the range of terrains S/T Maxx caters to. Despite not being an all-terrain tire, the tire is an excellent choice for your 4×4, even if your truck is off the road frequently. With all the information above on our Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx review, we hope to assist you in choosing your ideal companion!

Discoverer S/T MAXX | 78,000 Mile Review
Treadlife Warranty:None 
Uniformity Warranty:First 2/32″ of wear
Workmanship & Materials Warranty:6 Years / Free replacement first 2/32″ of wear, then prorated until 2/32″ remaining depth
Manufacturer’s Road Hazard Warranty:None
Manufacturer Special Warranty:45-Day Road Test (1)
Additional Information:(1) Exchange for another Cooper brand tire
Discoverer S/T Maxx warranty summary for replacement tires purchased on or after 01/01/21
1516
LT 235/75R15LT 33X12.50R15LT 215/85R16LT 265/70R16
LT 31X10.50R15LT 35X12.50R15LT 225/75R16LT 265/75R16
LT 235/85R16LT 285/75R16
LT 245/70R16LT 305/70R16
LT 245/75R16LT 315/75R16
LT 255/85R16
1718
LT 235/80R17LT 275/70R17LT 265/60R18LT 285/60R18
LT 245/70R17LT 285/70R17LT 265/65R18LT 285/65R18
LT 245/75R17LT 285/75R17LT 265/70R18LT 295/70R18
LT 255/75R17LT 295/70R17LT 275/65R18LT 305/60R18
LT 255/80R17LT 305/65R17LT 275/70R18LT 305/70R18
LT 265/65R17LT 315/70R17
LT 265/70R17LT 37X12.50R17
20
LT 265/60R20LT 295/55R20
LT 275/65R20LT 305/55R20
LT 285/55R20LT 35X12.50R20
LT 285/60R20

Discoverer S/T Maxx prices range approximately from $218.00 to $418.00 (Discount Tire)

  • Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac
  • BFGoodrich Commercial T/A Traction
  • Firestone Transforce AT2
  • Firestone Transforce AT

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx – Compare Prices

We found 7 online tire retailers selling Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx. Refer to the details below to get the best price

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx
PRICE SOLD BY
Offers
TireRack
Offers
SimpleTire
$217.99
TireBuyer
Offers
SimpleTire
$201
DiscountTire
Offers
PriorityTire
Offers
DiscountTire

Discoverer S/T Maxx Ratings By Consumer

Discoverer ST Maxx ratings by consumer

Dry
92%
Wet
84%
Snow
88%
Comfort
84%
Noise
68%
Treadwear
92%

By 05 driver(s)

Sort by

  • Avatar

    Kyran M.

    After 70,000 miles of reliable and safe performance from my Pro4x Nissan Titan with 285/65/18 tires, I am now excited to hit the road in a Ford FX4. With this new truck comes a fresh set of Cooper S/T Maxx 305/55R20s which I anticipate will bring me an additional 30,000 miles worth of great adventures! Thanks to all at Cooper Tires for making such high-quality products that can keep up with any terrain or weather condition.

    April 21, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Cayden

    My Ram 2500 Cummins engine has been riding on these amazing tires for over 50,000 miles and yet still have a remarkable amount of tread. To ensure optimal performance I rotate them every 8,000 miles!

    Unfortunately the 17-inch wheels that would be ideal do not come in the right size but fortunately they provide reliable handling no matter what weather conditions are thrown their way.

    November 21, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Anas Medrano

    When I purchased my 2006 Dodge Ram 1500, and started pulling Safety Trailers weekly, I switched out the 20″ rims for 17″, allowing me to use E-rated tires at a lower price. To make sure that load distribution was even from front to rear of the truck, Air Bags were added as well. The Goodyear Tires did get 45 – 50K miles before needing balancing again; however Discount Tire recently suggested trying 285/70/17 ones instead which left me awestruck!

    Despite driving 87,800 miles over two years with them on now there’s still 4/32 tread remaining so another set will be needed soon. Although they are louder than ideal due its Oil Field abuse lease roads daily usage requirement it’s impossible to find better quality in this situation overall!

    September 24, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Griff

    Thanks to these American-made tires, my 2018 Chevy 2500 has seen the best in traction across dirt, sand and snow. Whether for towing or sharp objects – their durability is unmatched with over 15k miles under its belts!

    Not only that but this tire also makes a great companion on drives as it offers wonderful sound insulation at all speeds. I’m glad there’s an option out there like this one; would absolutely purchase again if needed!

    June 25, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Emilio B.

    This set of tires is perfect for traveling across a variety of terrains. With five thousand miles on them, they are great-quality and have already been tested in the demanding environment at an isolated mountain ranch located 130 miles away from California’s coast. Rated 255/85-16E, these tires can handle up to 80 mph drives down the highway as well as challenging back roads made up of granitic loams and bumps; even when it comes time to tow a trailer they will remain reliable!

    Cooper’s impressive tire, the Norseman Trutrack, was a real game-changer for my buggy buddies in driving on roads back in the 70s. With this model of tire there were some compromises to make compared with other tires – but its performance on tasks that mattered most made up for it; they ran quietly and especially well when handled around mountain road curves.

    Not only did it excel at these main facets of driving, but also provided great mileage and even worked excellently during snowy or muddy off-road race courses! We lost our last set all too soon – no wonder why we still miss them today!

    Cooper tires have come in to save the day with their range of sizes and designs. These reliable tires can handle a variety of terrains, regardless if they are used on rugged roads or need prepared for wintery conditions. I’ve never experienced more miles than 25k from any brand – yet Cooper has impeccable balance and roundness that could potentially get me 20k miles!

    As an older individual who loves sneakers & tyres alike, it’s reassuring to know there is such great quality available when Michelin don’t offer everything required. So thank you very much Cooper; your terrific tyres make all the difference!

    May 31, 2020

    Helpful?

Share your experience to help others get the right choice!

Your email address will not be published.

Dry
Wet
Snow
Comfort
Noise
Treadwear

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx
PRICESOLD BY
Offers
In Stock
TireRack
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
From
$217.99
In Stock
TireBuyer
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
From
$201
In Stock
DiscountTire
Offers
In Stock
PriorityTire
Offers
In Stock
DiscountTire

David Barlow

Automotive Experts at World Tire Review

Hi everyone, I’m David (Tireguy). I believe that finding tires can lead to a lot of confusion and frustration for almost every driver. That’s why I would like to bring my experiences and knowledges to develop World Tire Review blog, it will give people a deeper understanding of what choosing the right tire is really like