Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx Tire Review – What You Should Know Before Buying

By David Barlow
Last Updated: September 18, 2021
Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx reviews

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx Overview

Whether or not the product is worth your money is the topic of this Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx review. Let’s have a look into the manufacturer of the tire down below:

About Cooper Tire & Rubber Company:

Cooper Tire – also known as Cooper Tire & Rubber Company, is a huge player in the tire production industry. It has a long-standing reputation for quality products and great service, stemming from hard work over a century. The company now has manufacturing facilities on three separate continents, and its distribution networks reach worldwide.

As a part of a very dynamic market, Cooper Tire’s products are mainly replacement tires for passenger cars and other light vehicles. The company currently sets its target to remain as one of the top tire providers in North America.

Product Features:

It’s time to take a look at this tire’s specs.

Product NameCooper Discoverer S/T MAXX
SizeLT285/70R17
TypeRadial Tire
Load RangeE
Max Load (lb)3,195 (SRW), 2,910 (DRW)
Sidewall ConstructionPolyester, three plies
Tread ConstructionNylon, Stell, Polyester
Approved Rim Width7.5 – 9.0 inches
Tread Depth18.5/32 inches
Tread Width9.3 inches
Overall Diameter33 inches
Maximum PSI80
Weight60 lbs
Section Width11.5 inches

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx comes along with Cooper’s three plies of Armor-Tek3® construction technology – which allows your tire to have strong sidewalls and tread, along with an angled ply construction that spreads out the forces applied to the tire. 

It also has a brand new proprietary road damage compound, guaranteeing long-lasting shelf life and excellent risk prevention.

Because of such features and a hybrid tread design, S/T Maxx is incredibly good on tough terrains while still providing amazing traction and stability despite being of commercial grade. The tire is also very quiet and comfortable to ride on, which gives you the best commuting experience.

All these attractive attributes will not come to shine without the outstanding blend of rubber and silica in the product’s tread compound. The substance can withstand slipping on wet surfaces and highways while still being exceptionally durable. The strategic ribs and lateral grooves also come into play by eliminating bigger obstacles like pebbles.

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx reviews: Pros & Cons

Pros
  • Excellent traction on both dry and wet surfaces
  • Great handling on and off-road
  • Durable and long-lasting
  • Quiet and comfortable to ride on
  • Worth the price tag
Cons
  • Does not hold well on snowy conditions

Discoverer S/T Maxx Drive Test (300w)

As claimed in their advertisement, the Cooper Discoverer S/T tire can withstand any type of terrain, whether on or off-road, dry or wet, rain or shine. We have tested the tire out in these conditions. 

Noise

Going into the test, we initially assumed that the tire would cause a lot of noise when the engine revs and turns it around, but we were pleasantly surprised. The decrease of loud noises proves to be a valuable feature for vehicle owners who drive around every day since constant screeching is very annoying.

Rainy Condition

Driving with the S/T Maxx under the rain and on sloppy roads takes the worries off our minds. Even when water floods the asphalt, the tire’s compound and its special blend give you lots of traction. 

We can testify for the tire’s ability to take high inflation pressure to its advantage as well as withstanding hefty goods on our truck. 

Off-Road

When off-road, the tire performs well. Although we have no doubts about this looking at the tire’s tread and overall design, we are very satisfied with the range of terrains S/T Maxx caters to. Despite not being an all-terrain tire, the tire is an excellent choice for your 4×4, even if your truck is off the road frequently. With all the information above on our Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx review, we hope to assist you in choosing your ideal companion!

Discoverer S/T MAXX | 78,000 Mile Review
Treadlife Warranty:None 
Uniformity Warranty:First 2/32″ of wear
Workmanship & Materials Warranty:6 Years / Free replacement first 2/32″ of wear, then prorated until 2/32″ remaining depth
Manufacturer’s Road Hazard Warranty:None
Manufacturer Special Warranty:45-Day Road Test (1)
Additional Information:(1) Exchange for another Cooper brand tire
Discoverer S/T Maxx warranty summary for replacement tires purchased on or after 01/01/21
1516
LT 235/75R15LT 33X12.50R15LT 215/85R16LT 265/70R16
LT 31X10.50R15LT 35X12.50R15LT 225/75R16LT 265/75R16
LT 235/85R16LT 285/75R16
LT 245/70R16LT 305/70R16
LT 245/75R16LT 315/75R16
LT 255/85R16
1718
LT 235/80R17LT 275/70R17LT 265/60R18LT 285/60R18
LT 245/70R17LT 285/70R17LT 265/65R18LT 285/65R18
LT 245/75R17LT 285/75R17LT 265/70R18LT 295/70R18
LT 255/75R17LT 295/70R17LT 275/65R18LT 305/60R18
LT 255/80R17LT 305/65R17LT 275/70R18LT 305/70R18
LT 265/65R17LT 315/70R17
LT 265/70R17LT 37X12.50R17
20
LT 265/60R20LT 295/55R20
LT 275/65R20LT 305/55R20
LT 285/55R20LT 35X12.50R20
LT 285/60R20

Discoverer S/T Maxx prices range approximately from $218.00 to $418.00 (Discount Tire)

  • Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac
  • BFGoodrich Commercial T/A Traction
  • Firestone Transforce AT2
  • Firestone Transforce AT

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx – Compare Prices

We found 7 online tire retailers selling Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx. Refer to the details below to get the best price

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx
PRICE SOLD BY
Offers
TireRack
Offers
SimpleTire
$217.99
TireBuyer
Offers
SimpleTire
$201
DiscountTire
Offers
PriorityTire
Offers
DiscountTire

Discoverer S/T Maxx Ratings By Consumer

Discoverer ST Maxx ratings by consumer
Dry
92%
Wet
84%
Snow
88%
Comfort
84%
Noise
68%
Treadwear
92%

By 05 consumer(s)

Sort by

  • Avatar

    Kyran M.

    On my Pro4x Nissan Titan, I had a set 285/65/18. They have covered 70,000 miles and I was eager to cover another 30,000. I felt safe and rarely had to use my 4×4 during the Ontario Winters. They would still be mine, but I have now moved to the Ford FX4. I cannot wait to have my new Cooper S/T Maxx 305/55/20s on the new truck. I look forward to the same great performance as my last set. Cooper Tires, thank you for making such a durable and high-performing tire.

    April 21, 2021

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Cayden

    These tires have been on my Ram 2500 with Cummins engine since more than 50,000 miles. I still have at most 50% tread. I rotate my tires every 8000 miles. These tires are amazing. These tires are amazing. I was planning to buy 17-inch wheels, but they don’t make them in the right size. It works in any weather condition.

    November 21, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Anas Medrano

    I own a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 and pull Safety Trailers almost every week. I removed the 20″ rims to go to 17″ in order to get an E rated tire at a lower price soon after I purchased the truck. Air Bags were added to my truck to ensure that the load is evenly distributed from front to rear. Good Years tires were my go-to and I would get 45 to 50,00 mile on them, but they needed to be balanced every now and again. These 285/70/17 Tires were recommended by Discount Tire. I was awestruck when I tried them. After 87,800 miles and two years, I still have 4/32 tread. In the next few weeks, I will be buying another set. Although they are louder and more noisy than I prefer, it is still a great tire. It is impossible to find a better tire for the Oil Field abuse lease roads that we use every day.

    September 24, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Griff

    These tires were purchased for my 2018 Chevy 2500. These tires required heavier balancing weights that I would expect from an American-made tire. They are able to grip in all conditions, including hard packed dirt, sand and snow. It is quiet enough for its type. They are great for towing and show decent wear. They have 15k miles and plenty of tread. They are extremely durable and I have used them to withstand some very sharp objects. I would definitely consider purchasing them again. Thank you for making them in the U.S.A.

    June 25, 2020

    Helpful?

  • Avatar

    Emilio B.

    These are a set with 5k miles and size 255/85-16E. They were mounted on my Dodge 4×4 quadcab pickup. It is used almost exclusively for service at a 6Kft. mountain ranch, 130 miles from the coast in Southern California. This truck is used twice per month. It travels at 80 mph on the highway, 55-70 MPH on a narrow 2-lane mountain road up to 4k elevation, and then 10 miles on dirt back roads made of granitic loams, holes, lumps and washboard. Sometimes, a trailer is towable. It’s a very impressive tire, and Cooper created them on the same roads as me. While no tire is perfect at every task, the compromises made by this tire model are acceptable for their performance in those areas that matter most. They are quiet on the freeway, and they can make a mild yowl when they’re hammered around mountain roads curves. They aren’t as efficient as street tires, but they do offer a good mileage and can be used in snowy mud or rocks just as well as an off-road race tire. This set was my last set, and it was way better than other tires. It was the 70’s. We, my buggy buddies, still mourn the loss of the Norseman Trutrack. This tire has a very similar tire “personality”. It is able to withstand rough terrain and can be compounded for winter wear. Each tire’s balance and roundness is superb. They should get me 20k miles. I have never gotten more than 25k miles with any tire brand. For some reason, I seem to love sneakers and tires. Michelin’s are on 5 of 7 vehicles, but they don’t offer the same quality or size. Cooper, thank you for being able to provide a tire size and design that actually works. These tires are great, by the way. But I’m an old man with experience so I can’t really comment.

    May 31, 2020

    Helpful?

Share your experience to help others get the right choice!

Your email address will not be published.

Dry
Wet
Snow
Comfort
Noise
Treadwear

Cooper Discoverer S/T Maxx
PRICESOLD BY
Offers
In Stock
TireRack
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
From
$217.99
In Stock
TireBuyer
Offers
In Stock
SimpleTire
From
$201
In Stock
DiscountTire
Offers
In Stock
PriorityTire
Offers
In Stock
DiscountTire

David Barlow

Automotive Experts at World Tire Review

Hi everyone, I’m David (Tireguy). I believe that finding tires can lead to a lot of confusion and frustration for almost every driver. That’s why I would like to bring my experiences and knowledges to develop World Tire Review blog, it will give people a deeper understanding of what choosing the right tire is really like!
Cooper
Discoverer S/T Maxx
TireRackDiscountTireAmazonSimpleTireTireBuyerPriorityTireTireAmerica